Request Police Reports & Records

Requests for records will be processed at the Whitefish Bay Police Department between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday. The requester is asked to fill out an open record request form detailing the record(s) requested. The form is located under the "Public Records Request (Non-Motor Vehicle Crash)" section below.  Please see the "Motor Vehicle Crash Report" section below for information on how to obtain a copy of a Crash Report.

Public Records Request (Non-Motor Vehicle Crash)

  • $0.30 per page
  • $5 for media file (audio/video)
  • Open Records Form (PDF)
  • Please read and complete the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) form if you are requesting records which may contain personal or highly personal restricted information.  The form must be completed and submitted to determine whether such information should be released or redacted. DPPA Open Records Request.
  • Completed forms can be mailed, delivered in person during normal business hours, or emailed to

Public Motor Vehicle Crash Reports

All requests for Motor Vehicle Crash reports shall be made through the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation. Crash reports may take up to two weeks to become available for release and there is a fee for obtaining a crash report. Fees for the report are determined by the State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation.To request copies of a crash report please use one of the following methods:

  1. Visit the Wisconsin Department of Transportation website at WI DOT Crash Reports
  2. Call the Wisconsin Department of Transportation Crash Records Unit: (608) 266-8753
  3. Request a crash report by mail at:
    Wisconsin Department of Transportation
    Crash Records Unit
    P.O. Box 7919
    Madison, WI 53707-7919

You will need one of following information pieces of information to request a crash report:

  • Document number
  • Date AND Driver License number
  • Accident number