Historic Preservation Commission

Commission Overview

On October 24, 2005, the Whitefish Bay Village Board approved a historic preservation ordinance, establishing the Whitefish Bay Historic Preservation Commission. The Historic Preservation is charged with the responsibility of assisting in the preservation of the Village’s historic and cultural heritage by identifying buildings, sites, and objects which reflect elements of Whitefish Bay’s cultural, social, economic, political or architectural history. The Commission aids in safeguarding this historic legacy by recommending that eligible properties be designated as local historic structures or sites and by maintaining an inventory of architecturally significant and historic sites. The Commission also documents the history of the Village and provides this information to Village residents.

Architectural & Historical Intensive Survey Report

In 2010, the Village commissioned Architectural and Historical Intensive Survey Report. This report documents an architectural and historical intensive survey of resources located within the boundaries of the Village.

Historic Preservation Documents

The Historic Preservation Ordinance, procedures, and the form for applying for historic site designation are available from the links below:

Other Helpful Links

Typical Meeting Time and Location

  • 7:00 p.m.
  • 3rd Wednesday of the month 
  • Village Hall

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are typically available several days prior the meeting. At a minimum, agendas are posted within the time-frames required by Wisconsin’s Open Meetings Law.  Minutes are available following approval by the Historic Preservation Commission. Please click the following link to view Recent Agendas and Minutes.


Ken Berg, Chairperson
Term Ends: 2024

Darrin Engel, Member
Term Ends: 2025

Jefferson Aikin, Member
Term Ends: 2026

Tom Fehring, Member
Term Ends: 2025

Erin Hazard, Member
Term Ends: 2024

Jacob Ruck, Member
Term Ends: 2026

Jill Anderson, Member
Term Ends: 2025

Individuals are nominated by the Village President and appointment is subject to confirmation by the Village Board. Term length is 3 years (1 year for alternates) and terms expire on April 30th of the applicable year.  Per current practice, the Village President offers existing members in good standing the opportunity to be nominated for subsequent reappointment(s).